The European Union and the Republic of Armenia have signed the Comprehensive and Enhanced Partnership Agreement at the fifth EU’s Eastern Partnership program’s summit in Brussels, Belgium.

The Agreement was ratified by the parties on March 21, 2017. The Agreement is a new platform for strengthening political and economic cooperation between Armenia and the EU, based on common values and close ties.

The EU launched the Eastern Partnership in 2009 to promote economic integration and European values in six Eastern European and South Caucasus countries – Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. Georgia, Moldova, and Ukraine signed Association Agreements with the 28-member bloc at the previous summit in Riga.
Armenia too negotiated an EU Association Agreement, however, president Serzh Sargsyan announced in 2013 September that Armenia would join the Moscow-led Eurasian Economic Union (EEU).